Register Now! - visit the conference website and register for the 2019 Single Topic Conference!

CPHRG

Canadian Pediatric Hepatology Research Group

Subject Area/Interest: Pediatric Hepatology

The CPHRG is a network of Pediatric Hepatologists across Canada with a mission to collaborate in pediatric liver diseases research and advocate for optimization of clinical care of children and youth with liver disease.

CPHRG meetings are held once a year during the CASL annual meeting to discuss ongoing and future research projects.

 

Ongoing Projects:

  • Genetic Intrahepatic Cholestasis: Pediatric disorders leading to bile canalicular dysfunction in Canada
  • The burden of chronic hepatitis C infection among children in Canada and the “real world” paediatric effectiveness of new therapies

Past Projects:

  • A national retrospective study of paediatric end-stage liver disease as a predictor of change to second-line therapy in children with autoimmune hepatitis. Zizzo AN, Jimenez-Rivera C, Kim J, Schreiber RA, Ling SC, Yap J8, Critch J, Ahmed N, Alvarez F, Kamath BM; Canadian Paediatric Hepatology Research Group (CPHRG). Liver Int. 2017 Oct;37(10):1562-1570.doi: 10.1111/liv.13387.Epub 2017 Mar 15.
  • Incidence and Characteristics of Autoimmune Hepatitis. Jimenez-Rivera C, Ling SC, Ahmed N, Yap J, Aglipay M, Barrowman N, Graitson S, Critch J, Rashid M, Ng VL, Roberts EA, Brill H, Dowhaniuk JK, Bruce G, Bax K, Deneau M, Guttman OR, Schreiber RA, Martin S, Alvarez F. Pediatrics. 2015 Nov;136(5):e1237-48.doi:10.1542/peds.2015-0578. Epub 2015 Oct 19.
  • Biliary atresia with associated structural malformations in Canadian infants. Guttman OR1, Roberts EA, Schreiber RA, Barker CC, Ng VL; Canadian Pediatric hepatology Research Group. Liver Int. 2011 Nov;31(10):1485-93. doi:10.1111/j.1478-3231.2011.02578.s. Epub 2011 Aug 8
  • Biliary atresia in Canada: the effect of centre caseload experience on outcome. Schreiber RA1, Barker CC, Roberts EA, Martin SR; Canadian Pediatric Hepatology Research Group. J Pediatr Gastroenterol Nutr. 2010 Jul;51(1):61-5. doi: 10.1097/MPG.0b013e3181d67e5e.
  • Biliary atresia: the Canadian experience.Schreiber RA, Barker CC, Roberts EA, Martin SR, Alvarez F, Smith L, Butzner JD, Wrobel I, Mack D, Moroz S, Rashid M, Persad R, Levesque D, Brill H, Bruce G, Critch J; Canadian Pediatric Hepatology Research Group. J Pediatr. 2007 Dec;151(6):659-65, 665.e1. Epub 2007 Oct 22.

 

Contact Information for Leads, and Members of the Group

Carolina Jimenez cajimenez@cheo.on.ca (Chair)
Andreanne Zizzo andreanne.zizzo@lhsc.on.ca
Anna Wieckowska anna.wieckowska@mail.chudequebec.ca
Ashok Dandhapani dhandapani.ashok@lhsc.on.ca
Binita Kamath binita.kamath@sickkids.ca
Decker Butzner butzner@ucalgary.ca
Eve Roberts eve.roberts@sickkids.ca
Fernando Alvarez fernando.alvarez@umontreal.ca
Guttman, Orlee oguttman@cw.bc.ca
Herbert Brill brillh@mcmaster.ca
Jeff Critch habs19@nf.sympatico.ca
Massimiliano Paganelli m.paganelli@umontreal.ca
Mohit Kehar mohit.kehar@kingstonhsc.ca
Mohsin Rashid mohsin.rashid@iwk.nshealth.ca
Najma Ahmed najma.ahmed@mcgill.ca
Patricia Kawada patricia.kawada@albertahealthservices.ca
Pushpa Sathya pushpa.sathya5@gmail.com
Rick Schreiber, rschreiber@cw.bc.ca
Simon Ling simon.ling@sickkids.ca
Steve Martin stevenR.martin@albertahealthservices.ca
Susan Gilmour susan.gilmour@albertahealthservices.ca
Vicky Ng vicky.ng@sickkids.ca
Quais Mujawar qmujawar@exchange.hsc.mb.ca