Acute Hepatitis in Children - Resources and References: visit our links page for more information

Current Award Recipients

2022 Award Recipients

CLF-CASL Gold Medal Award (awarded to an exceptional individual in hepatology, who has made outstanding contributions to liver research:

Dr. Norah Terrault (University of Southern California) is Professor of Medicine and Chief of Gastroenterology and Liver Diseases at the Keck School of Medicine at University of Southern California. She received her MD from the University of Alberta and completed fellowships in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology at the University of Toronto and a Masters in Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Terrault has focused her clinical and research activities on viral hepatitis and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, especially in special populations including those with cirrhosis and those with transplants.

Distinguished Service Award (awarded to a CASL member in recognition of their outstanding contributions to CASL and to the field of liver disease in Canada):

Dr. Christopher Rose (University of Montreal) is currently Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the Université de Montréal and is director of the Neuro-Hepato laboratory which is located at University Hospital Research Center (CRCHUM). Dr. Rose is Chair of the CASL Research Committee and has been a member of that committee since 2011.  Dr. Rose also serves as a member of the Steering Committee fir the TRIANGLE HRTP platform awarded CIHR funding in collaboration between CASL, CAG and CCC.  Dr. Rose’s research interests lie within the area of hepatic encephalopathy (HE), a field in which he has been researching for over 25 years.

Education Excellence Award (recognizes a CASL member who demonstrates exceptional scholarly activities, leadership in medical education, significant involvement in the development and/or implementation of educational programs and innovations, excellence in teaching, and a commitment to administrative duties relating to medical education):

Dr. Scott Fung (University Hospital Network, Toronto) completed his undergraduate and postgraduate training at the University of Toronto.  After completing a fellowship in Gastroenterology, he received further training in hepatology at the University of Michigan.  He is currently appointed as Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto and is staff hepatologist at University Health Network and Sinai Health System.  Dr. Fung co-directs the Hepatology Fellowship program at the University of Toronto and is education director for the Toronto Center for Liver Disease.


CIHR-INMD-CASL Early Career Research Partnership Prize (The CIHR-INMD-CASL Early Career Researcher Partnership Prize (“the Partnership Prize”) is designed to recognize exceptional young investigators with an interest specifically in some aspect of liver disease, and who are a member of the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver)


CASL Research Excellence Award (This award is given to a CASL member who demonstrates research excellence and was lead author of a high-impact research article published during the last calendar year.):

Dr. Mamatha Bhat (Queens University) is a staff Hepatologist and clinician-scientist at UHN’s Multi Organ Transplant Program and UofT’s Division of Gastroenterology. She completed an MSc in Experimental Medicine, as part of the Royal College Clinician Investigator Program, followed by a fellowship in Transplant Hepatology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. She subsequently completed a PhD in Medical Biophysics through a CIHR Fellowship for Health Professionals. She has established a research program that uses a systems biology approach to liver disease and transplantation.

CASL PSC Partners Seeking a Cure Award (This award recognizes the best abstract on primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC) presented at the Canadian Liver Meeting, and is made possible by a generous donation from PSC Partners Seeking a Cure Canada):

Dr. Marwa Ismail (University of Toronto) is currently on the research team at the University Health Network, Toronto Centre for Liver Disease – Francis Family Liver Clinic. She has written many publications that have furthered the research of hepatology.  Dr Ismail won this year’s award with the abstract Longitudinal Stability of Disease Activity in Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis: A Treatment Target for New Therapies?

CASL-CLF Clinical Hepatology Fellowships

Dr. Zaid Hindi
Dr. Heather Kosick
Dr. Xun Zhao