Canadian Liver Meeting 2019 - visit the conference website for updates and the latest news!

Current Award Recipients

2019 CLF-CASL Gold Medal Award Recipient- Dr. Florence Wong

The CLF and CASL are pleased to announce Dr. Florence Wong as the 2019 CLF-CASL Gold Medal Award Winner. This prestigious award is given in recognition of outstanding achievements in both research and science in hepatology.

Dr. Florence Wong is a Full Professor at the University of Toronto and staff Hepatologist at the Toronto General Hospital in Ontario, Canada. She has been active in research in the pathogenesis of portal hypertension, ascites formation, liver-kidney interaction, including the development of hepatorenal syndrome, and renal failure in cirrhosis for the past 26 years.

She is currently the Deputy Editor of Liver Transplantation and a regular grant reviewer for various international funding agencies including the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the National Institutions of Health of the USA, the Wellcome Trust of the United Kingdom, Swiss National Science Foundation and The Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development.


2018 CASL Education Excellence Award – Dr. Hemant Shah

The CASL Executive Committee wants to recognize Dr. Hemant Shah‘s leadership in medical education and scholarly activities in hepatology. He is clearly a worthy recipient of this newly created annual CASL Education Excellence Award!

Dr. Hemant Shah is an Assistant Professor and Clinical Director of the Toronto Centre for Liver Disease. His clinical focus is viral hepatitis and he maintains a busy teaching practice. In addition to clinical care, Dr. Shah is actively engaged in projects to develop innovative models of care for viral hepatitis, advance inter-professional collaboration and improve knowledge levels amongst primary care and specialty providers.

He also serves as Director of the Hepatology Fellowship Program which trains three to six clinical and research fellows annually. Dr. Shah has graduate training in Health Practitioner Education.


2018 CASL-CLF Visiting Professorship – Dr. Andrew Mason

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Andrew Mason is the recipient of the inaugural CASL-CLF Visiting Professorship Award. The CASL-CLF Visiting Professorship Award recognizes a CASL member who is an outstanding individual and an excellent communicator in the field of Hepatology, with an interest in clinical, basic science or translation liver research.

Dr. Andrew Mason will deliver lectures at centres across Canada in the coming months, including the following:

  • June 25, UBC Medical Rounds, St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver

“A retroviral etiology of autoimmune liver disease: New ideas and therapies for patients with primary biliary cholangitis”

  • August 7, University of Manitoba Hepatology Rounds, Winnipeg

“Chicken or Egg? How environmental triggers help us divine the genetic susceptibility of autoimmune liver disease”

  • September 7, Memorial University Newfoundland Medical Rounds, Health Sciences Centre, St. John’s

“Demystifying autoimmune liver disease: New ideas and therapies for patients with primary biliary cholangitis”

  • September 11, CHUM, Montreal

“Looking through a different lens: how knowledge of genetic susceptibility can help us understand autoimmune liver disease”

CASL will be accepting nominations for the 2019 CASL-CLF Visiting Professorship in early 2019!